southwest state

South West States In Nigeria And Their Land Mass

Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Oyo, and Osun are the six southwest states in Nigeria. Although multiple dialects exist even within the same state, it is mostly a Yoruba-speaking region. The Yoruba people are indigenous to Nigeria’s southwest states. In Nigeria, the rainy season (March to November) and the dry season (December to February) have different meteorological conditions (November – to February).

Around this time, cold dry winds from the northern deserts sweep towards the southern areas, bringing the Harmattan dust with them. The geopolitical zone of the southwest states in Nigeria is regarded to be the most educationally competent in Nigeria. The states of Nigeria’s southwest area and their respective landmass are the topics of this article. Six states make up southwest Nigeria. We will discuss southwest states in Nigeria by landmass.

South West States in Nigeria

Ekiti State

Ekiti State is located in southern Nigeria, bordering Kwara State to the north, Kogi State to the northeast, Ondo State to the south and southeast, and Osun State to the west. Most of the money that Ekiti State makes comes from farming, which is also the state’s main source of jobs. There are a lot of cash crops grown there, like bananas and cashews, as well as citrus and kola nuts. Ekiti state has a population density (km²) of 375 and a Landmass(km²) of 6,353.00

Lagos State

Lagos State is a Nigerian state in the southwest. It is both the most populated and the smallest of the 36 states in terms of area. Lagos State is bordered to the south by the Bight of Benin and to the west by the international boundary with the Benin Republic, and to the east and north by Ogun State, making it the sole Nigerian state with just one other state. Lagos State is home to the majority of Nigeria’s industrial investments. Although Lagos is a Yoruba-speaking state, it is home to Nigerians of all tribes because it is the country’s economic hub. Lagos State is Nigeria’s most vibrant state. Lagos state has a population density (km²) of 2,695 and a Landmass(km²) of 3,345.00

You May Like  How to Share Data on Airtel & Transfer MB Easily 2023

Ogun State

Ogun State is a Nigerian state in the southwest. The previous Western State was merged into this state on February 3, 1976. Ogun State is bordered on the south by Lagos State, on the north by Oyo and Osun State, on the west by Ondo State, and on the south by the Republic of Benin. Ijebu Ode, the old royal capital of the Ijebu Kingdom, and Sagamu, Nigeria’s biggest kola nut farmer, are both capital and most populated cities in Ogun State. Twenty Local Government Areas make up Ogun State. The Yoruba language is spoken in four primary dialects in the state: Egba, Egbados, Ijebu, and Remo. Traditional arts are what identify the state. The people of Ogun state are more familiarized with crafts which include carving, sculpturing, smith works Ogun state has a population density (km²) of 222 and a Landmass(km²) of 16,762.00

Ondo State

Ondo State is a Nigerian state in the southwest. Ondo State borders Ekiti State (formally part of the state) to the north, Kogi State to the northeast, Edo State to the east, Delta State to the southeast, Ogun State to the southwest, Osun State to the northwest, and the Atlantic Ocean to the south. It was formed in February 1976 from the former Western State. Traders, farmers, and fishermen make up a large portion of the state’s population. Ondo is also one of Nigeria’s most educationally developed states. Ondo state has a population density (km²) of 236 and a Landmass(km²) of 14,606.00

Oyo State

Oyo, often known as Oyo State to distinguish it from the city of Oyo, is a southwestern Nigerian interior state. Ibadan, the country’s third-largest metropolis and previously Africa’s second-largest city serves as the country’s capital. Kwara State borders Oyo State to the north, Osun State to the east, and Ogun State and the Republic of Benin to the southwest. Oyo state has a population density (km²) of 204 and a Landmass(km²) of 27,460.00

You May Like  Top 10 Best Engineering Universities in Nigeria

Osun State

Osun State is a state in southwestern Nigeria, bordered on the east by Ekiti and Ondo states, on the north by Kwara State, on the south by Ogun State, and on the west by Oyo State. The state was founded on August 27, 1991, in the southeast of Oyo State, and its capital is Osogbo. It is named after the River Osun, a significant river that runs through the state. Farmers, traders, and artisans make up the majority of the population in this state. Weaved fabrics, woven mats, and leatherwork are among the craftsmen’s most popular products. Osun state has a population density (km²) of 334 and a Landmass(km²) of 10,245.00

Similar Posts